MG – Awards Ceremony – 2013

2012 – 2013 Awards Ceremony
McAuley High School
April 30, 2013

Click HERE for photos.

Note: Photos of Northern Kentucky Youth Advisory Board’s check presentations and
Mount Notre Dame’s check presentations were taken on April 24, 2013 at seperate Awards Ceremonies.

On April 30, 2013, nearly 700 students, teachers, agency representatives, parents, benefactors and friends of Magnified Giving gathered at McAuley High School’s Performing Arts Center for the Magnified Giving’s Fifth Annual Student Philanthropy Awards Ceremony. Thanks to everyone who came to be a part of the celebration!

Donor Reception and Dinner
The evening began with a donor reception and dinner coordinated by Magnified Giving volunteers Dawn Newsted and Heidi Keppler.  Sandwiches were provided by Power Inspires Progress, along with donations from a dozen friends of Magnified Giving.  Thanks also goes to Magnified Giving teachers Al Kovacic, Craig Rush, Julie Vehorn, Suzette Glaab and Laurie Foster for providing the beverages.  Special thanks to Jane Meier, MND Board Member, for providing the gifts for the student raffle, and to Dawn Newsted for also providing the awesome Thank You bags for each of the participants.

Program Leadership
Students from Mount Notre Dame’s Youth Philanthropy Council assisted with the leadership of the event this year.  Emcee responsibilities were led by Kathryn Zapf (’14) and Megan Desrosiers (’15).  Check production was led by Zai Johns (’13), and many students helped with setup, cleanup, and on-stage and behind-stage responsibilities, including Morgan Everly (’16), Ashley Harris (’16), Grace Badger (’16), Lizzy Schnicke (’13), Emily Webb (’15), Rachel Zapf (’15), Megan Russo (’15), Dani Damon (’14), Shar Baines (’15), Lanie Gruber (’15), Alicia Riley (’15), Holly Denny (’15), Collen Eck (’13), Katie vonErden (’13), Chelsea Kavanaugh (’14), Emma Freudenberg (’15), Lyndsey Degaro (’14),  and Sarah Kendall (’14).

Special Guest Speakers
Erin Grinsted – Erin is a freshman at Xavier University, and is former Magnified Giving partcipant and student leader.  She spoke about how Magnified Giving has allowed her grow as a person, introduced her to some amazing role models, and helped her decide what she wanted to with her life!

Al Kovacic – Mr. Kovacic is a Religion teacher at Seton High School and has been participating in our program since our start in 2008.  Mr. Kovacic shared how the program has truly touched the lives of hundreds of students these past five years, and how every Seton student will participate in the Magnified Giving program before she graduates!

Check Presentations
One by one, students from the participating schools were invited on stage to present their checks to the winning agencies.  Grants totaling $50,644.74 were presented to agency representatives by the student participants!  Teachers were given the opportunity to introduce themselves and their students to the audience, and to share how they implement the program.  A number of schools were given the opportunity to share a bit more about their experience – what they learned, the struggles they faced through the program, and what they hope to do in the future.  It was an another inspiring and amazing program.

Roger Grein Spirit of Philanthropy Award
Magnified Giving teachers are asked to nominate students who demonstrate the philanthropic spirit of our founder, Mr. Roger Grein.  Congratulations to all of the nominees!  Special congrats goes to our three Runners Up and to our Award Winner!

Nominees:  Megan Kelly (Seton), Julia Love (Arlington), Kendra Lutes (Perry), Sam Maciejewski (Elder), Teresa Rust (Mercy), Lizzy Schnicke (Mt. Notre Dame), Abby Statdmiller (Bishop Brossart), Patrick Verst (Covington Catholic), and Katelyn Wright (Roger Bacon).

Runners Up: Julia Love, Sam Maciejewski, and Abby Stadtmiller

Award Winner:  Kendra Lutes

Thank You
Thanks to Dennis Gray for taking photographs and videotaping our event, and thanks to Dave Rapien (and his daughters) for producing a live webcast of our event.  Special thanks to Brigitte Foley (McAuley) for coordinating the use of McAuley’s theatre for our ceremony.

Grant Winners